Here’s What Happens To Your Social Media Accounts After You Die

What will happen to your social media accounts after you die? Will your friends or family members be able to access your account or will automatically get shut down?


Did you ever give a thought to this?
Well, social media is always a step ahead of us. The social networking sites have already made policies on what to do with the users account after their death.
Each platform has its own rulebook for its deceased users. Let’s check them out.

1. Facebook

The most used social networking site, Facebook either deletes your page permanently or transforms it into a memorial page where your contacts can continue to post on your wall.

Facebook also gives an option to its users wherein they can choose one of their contacts as a ‘legacy contact’ and give limited access to that person after he or she passes away. And, after this legacy contact posts a final message announcing the death of the user, the page becomes a memorial page and people can post their tributes on the wall.

2. Instagram

Since Facebook owns Instagram, most of their policies are similar.
Your account turns into a memorial, but nobody can access or log into your account. The Like, Follow, or Upload options are also locked. The ones who are already following your account can see your previous posts. However, your account is not searchable as it may be upsetting to the deceased’s family members and friends.

3. Twitter

Twitter also does not allow the account to be accessed by anybody but the user, but if the deceased users’ family or friends wish to contact Twitter regarding the death of the user, they can do so and request for the deactivation of the account.
Once Twitter receives the message of the death of the user, it asks for documents such as the death certificate and photo ID of the deceased and after cross-checking the facts, they deactivate the account.
So, this is how it’s going to be after you die. Since Instagram and Twitter do not have an option for ‘Legacy Contact’, you can go to the Privacy setting in Facebook and give the “Legacy Contact’ access to your closest one!
source and courtesy: stylecraze.com

Recent Stories